Undignified

There are lots of things I could write about. You know, for a brief moment I even considered giving a brief mention to the Donald Trump debacle (not because I think the man needs more attention but because the way some people were responding to it, I felt, was also profoundly unhelpful). There, I suppose that was a brief mention after all…

Anyhow, I think that sometimes simplicity is key and there is beauty in small moments.

So here’s a little about my heart lately. This kind of follows on from my thoughts in my last post but it makes sense on its own 🙂

I changed the name of my blog. Comes from the same passage – same verse, even. “She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she laughs without fear of the future”. Proverbs 31:25. (New Living Translation).

I changed the name of my blog because the whole idea of dignity, I think, can be misconstrued. I never want to let myself think that wanting ‘dignity’ means justification for not getting messy. Dignity in Christ is a beautiful thing but it’s not dignity in the world’s eyes, and I just feel in my heart that it’s time for my focus to shift.

I think really being a follower of Jesus means that you have to be willing to look undignified; to look ridiculous, to pour extravagant love on the world no matter what you get back, to associate with those the rest of society shuns.

Jesus told us to do what He did, to represent Him everywhere we go, whether we’re called to the far corners of the world or to sad, frantic central London. Total surrender, His will be done, every day. And we are given the grace to do that because Jesus promised to send us the Holy Spirit – God here on Earth. The same power that raised Jesus from the dead is the power that dwells in God’s children. That’s pretty big stuff.

I’ll never understand what that looks like if my main concern is to maintain my dignity in the eyes of all.

But the joy of the Lord is my strength, and perfect love casts out fear.
The joy of the Lord is what makes it possible to commute for 4 hours a day to work and back (until I find somewhere closer to live). It’s no strength of mine, I promise.

It’s what makes it possible to rejoice in Him in the midst of difficult circumstances. I am blessed indeed and I never want to lose sight of that reality, but I struggle to talk about the painful stuff (certainly on my blog, but also in face-to-face contact).

It’s much easier to tell the world about the things that are great, than to admit it every time you curl up on your bed in tears.

And yet even still, I know joy – fulness of joy, found only in His presence as He floods my soul and takes my breath away.

I still praise God with indescribable joy that makes me want to dance and skip like a little kid. Because He is good. Because He loves me and that love is based only on Him and not on my own efforts. A love I can rest in, not strive for.

Understanding the wild, fierce, all-consuming love of God is what slowly burns the fear out of my heart. It’s a slow process, because learning to really seek God in the midst of a culture that tells you to seek anything but, requires perseverance.

To completely shake off fear is something I long for because I’ve seen glimpses of what it looks like when fear bows to love. Sharing God’s heart for people, telling them what He sees in them, how valued they are in His eyes… I want to live my whole life like that.

When you see God touch someone’s heart because of something you said, in those moments when the Holy Spirit speaks through you, at 7am on the bus when you’d normally rather be in bed… that feeling is pretty much incomparable.

But intimacy with Him is the only – the ONLY – thing that bears fruit.

I want to live in the promise of Ephesians 2:10 – “For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them”. I want to opt into those daily opportunities to share His goodness.

So I changed my blog because laughing without fear is how I want to live my life. Walking in joy and perfect love.

 

PS: I don’t know if I’ll manage another post before Christmas but if I don’t, I wish you a really blessed time with your loved ones. I also want to say thank you for sticking with this blog; whether you’ve read consistently or you’ve read just one post, wherever you are in the world, whatever you believe.

2 thoughts on “Undignified

  1. Amen!!! And much love from me all the way from Sydney, Australia!
    Great post…and what an awesome Love we have in Christ…He is so Good…cannot imagine life without His purpose…God bless your voice, keep speaking with His strength xxx much love

Tell me what you think

