A few words on my 2013. God is good.

20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

Ephesians 3:20-21

The first thing that comes to mind when I think about the past year is thankfulness. This is the year God showed me that there is always more, and I have never been this excited about pursuing Him.

There’s always the possibility for more of His presence; more intimacy with Him – and through this I can expect to see more of His goodness in my life and extending to the lives of others around me. There’s always more of His grace to enable me to do that which He has set out for me, and maybe best of all, more fun and surprise and adventure.

I’ve only scratched the surface of that this year, so 2014?

Bring. It. On.

Right now though, it’s good to have a little time to sift through the events of this year. Mainly I’m incredibly grateful for the ways in which God has gone over the top again and again for me. His generosity is just incredible. Our second year house in Canterbury, which was a place of joy and laughter. The friendships I got to develop and the people I’ve been able to meet – from all over the world, which is just the best thing ever. The chance to go to Paris for the first time. A strengthened relationship with my brother. The amazing opportunity to study in Berlin; sometimes when walking around in the city centre I still have to remind myself that I actually live there.

Even during the lower points I’ve been unexpectedly blessed. One clear example has been in living alone for the past few months. While I value my own space and chose to live by myself, loneliness can be a struggle sometimes, especially in a foreign country far from family and best friends. But that solitude gives me a lot more time to spend with Jesus and worship Him. It’s the most beautiful thing; loneliness disappears with the assurance of His presence, and instead I feel wrapped in perfect love and security.

This year I have loved how God will use a willing heart. I am humbled that He would even want to use me at all – He doesn’t have to. He’s God. With the tiniest gesture the whole world could be face-down under the weight of His glory. But simply through my being open to His purposes, He’s worked through me and in some cases I’ve barely had to do anything at all. This is where I see the truth in Ephesians 3:20- He really is able to do more than I can ask or imagine. Other times haven’t been so effortless. I’ve had to step out of my comfort zone – really living out what Jesus teaches is NOT comfortable and He never said it would be. But I have not regretted any of those times for one single second.

I still can’t give an answer to the oft asked question ‘what do you want to do after uni?’ (seriously guys please stop asking me), but I feel God has been realigning my priorities this year. I know that whatever job/s I end up in, I want to make a difference to this world. He’s been continuing to soften my heart towards those the world calls unlovely and unlovable, and it is exciting to have new dreams beginning to form as I consider what is possible with God.

I’ve learnt a lot this year, even through those moments that have been really, really tough. The bible promises that God is faithful, and I can attest to this truth. I am excited for victory in situations I’m still waiting to see turned around, and encouraged through this year that they will come to pass.

This has been a testimony to the goodness of my Father, and I hope you found it encouraging in some way. For the most part I don’t know who is reading this and what kind of a year you’ve had. Most likely you’ve had both joys and sorrows. Maybe for some it’s been the best year ever, but for others maybe it’s been very, very hard. In any case, I pray you will experience God’s favour on your life in 2014, that you will be blessed and know more of His incredible love for you, for from that everything else flows.

Tell me what you think

